Zygnema, Inner Sanctum and Third Sovereign lead nominations for G-Shock Rolling Stone Metal Awards 2016

Indian Music Mug
Page Visited: 965
Read Time:2 Minute, 31 Second

rsma16It is that time of the year again. Countdown to the seventh edition of India’s biggest Metal awards show has begun.  Mumbai’s thrash/groove metal band Zygnema  dominate the nominee  list this year  for the G-Shock Rolling Stone Metal Awards 2016, which will take place on February 28th at Hard Rock Café Worli, Mumbai. They have been nominated in a whopping seven out of the eight award categories for their new album What Makes Us Human Is Obsolete.

Close behind Zygnema with six nominations each  are   Bengaluru thrash/death metallers Inner Sanctum for their album  Legions Awake, and Aizawl death metal band Third Sovereign for Perversion Swallowing Sanity. Bengaluru’s sludge band Shepherd comes in next with five nominations for their debut album Stereolithic Riffalocalypse. Mumbai stone-age metallers Primitiv, Kolkata metal band Yonsample, Mumbai heavy metal/horror band Albatross, Guwahati metal bands Rectified Spirit and Lucid Recess are also among the other nominees.

G-Shock Rolling Stone Metal Awards recognizes and honors the best and the most promising talents every year. In the run up to the awards show, pre-gigs took place this month in Delhi, Guwahati and Bengaluru, featuring the likes of The Down Troddence, Lunatic Fringe, Escher’s Knot, Plague Throat, Necrophilia and Grammy Winning Effort.  The awards night also provides a platform for some of the best metal bands in India, established and new, to showcase their talent and interact with fans. G-Shock Rolling Stone Metal 2016  awards night will feature performances by Shepherd, Primitiv, Grammy Winning Effort and tech-death metal band Gaijin.

The award categories for G-Shock Rolling Stone Metal Awards 2016  include Best Band, Best Song, Best Album, Best Guitarist, Best Bassist, Best Vocalist, Best Drummer and Best Keyboardist. The winners are chosen by a combination of online voting and jury poll. Past winners have included the biggest names in the Indian metal scene including Demonic Resurrection, Bhayanak Maut, Scribe, Zygnema, The Down Troddence, Noiseware, Undying Inc, Eccentric Pendulum and Skyharbor.

Launched in 2010, G-Shock Rolling Stone Metal Awards have over the years featured some of the greatest names in metal as judges, both Indian and international. This year’s jury include Lamb of God drummer Chris Adler, The Black Dahlia Murder bassist Max Lavelle, Millennium vocalist Vehrnon Ibrahim, Thaikkudam Bridge bassist Vian Fernandes,  Slain keyboardist Jonathan Wesley, former Infernal Wrath guitarist Pradeep  Pande,  Indus Creed drummer Jai Row Kavi and former Rolling Stone India editors Bobin James and Deepti Unni.

G-Shock Rolling Stone Metal Awards 2016   is hosted by India’s biggest music magazine Rolling Stone India.  G-Shock returns as the title sponsor with associate sponsor Gibson Guitars. This year, we also welcome back alternative music channel Pepsi MTV Indies as a partner, and welcome new radio partner Radio City, and online partner Bajaao.com.

G-Shock Rolling Stone Metal Awards 2016 will be held on February 28th at Hard Rock Café Worli, Mumbai. Entry Rs. 300 [full cover]. For more details log on to rollingstoneindia.com

Next Post

Pyrotechnix - Holy Grail of Rock (Battle of the Bands)

The annual rock music competition cum concert event of Pyrokinesis is back again. This rock fest, organized by the student of Assam Engineering College, Guwahati. This season of Pyrotechnix has come up with loads of surprises. This event gives platform to many amateur bands of the country to showcase their […]

Subscribe US Now